Daniele Ganser, Friedensforschung

SHORT BIOGRAPHY

Dr. phil. Daniele Ganser is a Swiss historian, his research focuses on peace and energy. He heads the Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel and studies as an energy expert the global struggle for oil and the potential of renewable energies.

EXTENDED BIOGRAPHY

Dr. phil. Daniele Ganser is a Swiss historian who specializes in contemporary history since 1945 and International Politics. His research topics are peace research, geo-strategy, covert warfare, resource wars and economic policy. He teaches at the University of St. Gallen (HSG) courses on the history and future of energy systems. At Basel University, he taught in the postgraduate course on conflict analysis with a focus on the global fight over petroleum. Daniele Ganser is founder and Director of the Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel. SIPER researches the possibility of a transition to 100% renewable energy supplies and how conflicts might be solved peacefully. (www.siper.ch)

From 2001 until 2003, Daniele Ganser was a senior researcher at the think tank Avenir Suisse in Zurich. Avenir Suisse is funded by 14 international Swiss corporations including Swiss Re, ABB, Novartis, Roche, Credit Suisse and Nestlé. From 2003 until 2006, he held the position of a senior researcher for the Center for Security Studies (CSS) of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich. In cooperation with the Swiss Foreign Ministry (the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs – EDA) he investigated the impact of globalization on war and peace. At the EDA, Daniele Ganser was a member of the expert group on civil peace promotion and the strengthening of human rights.

Daniele Ganser holds the German IQ-Award 2015 by Mensa in Deutschland e.V., the association for highly skilled people (www.mensa.de). He is a member of the scientific council of the trade association swisscleantech (www.swisscleantech.ch). Daniele Ganser has published a variety of books, scientific articles and newspaper articles dealing with the energy transition, peace research and contemporary history. His book on NATO’s secret armies was translated into 10 languages. His book "Europa im Erdölrausch” was published in September 2012 and describes the global fight for petroleum. His newest book "Illegale Kriege" was published in October 2016 and describes how NATO memeber states sabotage die UN and disregard the prohibition of war. The TOP-10 of his presentations and interviews on Youtube count over 4 million views.

Daniele Ganser has a daughter and a son and lives with his family in Switzerland.

Deutscher IQ-Preis: Der Wilhelm Tell unter den Historikern, MinD-Magazin, 14. Juni 2016

Ein Tessiner sucht in Basel den Frieden, Tessiner Zeitung, June 7, 2013

In der Tabuzone, TagesWoche, August 31, 2012

Der Augenöffner, Best of Basel, July 1st, 2009

Portrait Basler Zeitung, January 31, 2006

BIOGRAPHY IN PICTURES

image

German IQ-Award 2015

On April 23, 2016 in Bonn, he received the German IQ-Award 2015 in the category "Intelligent Transfer of Knowledge" by Mensa, the association for highly skilled people. Mensa stated that he was the beneficiary of the award "because he encourages the broad public through his critical and partly controversial publications to question the surrounding world. Mensa honors the work of Daniele Ganser as a publicist and critical intellectual, using his own intelligence for the public good." (Image: Anna Weinhold, April 2016).

image

Since 2012: University of St. Gallen

Since 2012, he lectures at the University of St. Gallen and teaches together with Prof. Rolf Wüstenhagen the course "History and the future of energy systems", in which the costs and opportunities of the energy transition are studied.

image

Since 2011: SIPER

Since June 2011, he has been the Director of the Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel. The Institute researches issues connected with energy, war and peace. With his team, he investigates how a transition to 100% renewable energy could be achieved and how conflicts might be solved peacefully (picture: presentation in the KKL Lucerne, July 2012).

image

2006-2015: University of Basel

From 2006 to 2009, he was teaching contemporary history at the History Faculty of the University of Basel. He has then been from 2009 to 2015 a lecturer at the Institute for Sociology in the postgraduate course on conflict analysis. He communicates the results of his research on the global fight for oil and gas in public lectures (picture: lecture at the University of Basel, September 2011).

image

2003-2006: ETH Zürich

At the Center for Security Studies (CSS) of the ETH Zürich, he researched issues in the fields of security politics, globalization, covert warfare and human rights (picture: presentation of the book on NATO’s Secret Armies and on the Swiss P26 with (from left to right) Bruno Lezzi (NZZ), former National Councillor Helmut Hubacher and Hans Senn (former Chief of the General Staff of the Swiss Army), Prof. Georg Kreis (University of Basel), Prof. Andreas Wenger (ETH CSS), February 2005).

image

2001-2003: Avenir Suisse

As senior researcher, he was responsible for economic policy and contemporary history at the think tank Avenir Suisse. He has learned much from Avenir Suisse advisory council member, Jakob Kellenberger, who also served as President of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) at that time (picture: (from left to right) Thomas Held (Director Avenir Suisse), Kellenberger, Ganser, September 2002).

image

1992-2001: University Studies

From 1992 onwards, he studied History, International Relations, Philosophy and English at the University of Basel, the University of Amsterdam (UVA) and the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). He received his licentiate in the field of contemporary history summa cum laude in 1998 and his Ph.D. insigni cum laude in 2001. During term holidays, he liked to travel to faraway destinations and visited amongst other countries Nepal, Cuba, India, Canada, Sweden, the USA and Algeria (picture: USA, Florida, February 2001).

image

1972-1992: Childhood and Youth

He was born in 1972 in Lugano, Switzerland. For over 150 years, there was peace in Switzerland. No other country and none of Switzerland's neighbouring nations can look back on such a long period of peace. He didn't know this at that time. He spent his youth in Basel, where he obtained his Matura in 1992 (picture: Year One, Primary School).

Daniele Ganser, Friedensforschung

LEBENSLAUF KURZ

Dr. phil. Daniele Ganser ist Schweizer Historiker, Energie- und Friedensforscher. Er leitet das Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel und untersucht als Energieexperte den globalen Kampf ums Erdöl und das Potential der erneuerbaren Energien.

LEBENSLAUF LANG

Dr. phil. Daniele Ganser ist Schweizer Historiker, spezialisiert auf Zeitgeschichte seit 1945 und Internationale Politik. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Friedensforschung, Geostrategie, verdeckte Kriegsführung, Ressourcenkämpfe und Wirtschaftspolitik. Er unterrichtet an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) zur Geschichte und Zukunft von Energiesystemen und war Dozent für Zeitgeschichte an der Universität Basel, der Universität Zürich und der Universität Luzern. Daniele Ganser ist Gründer und Leiter des Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel. Das SIPER untersucht, ob es möglich wäre, die Energieversorgung zu 100% auf erneuerbare Energien umzustellen und Konflikte friedlich zu lösen (www.siper.ch).

Daniele Ganser war von 2001 bis 2003 Senior Researcher beim Think Tank Avenir Suisse in Zürich. Von 2003 bis 2006 war Daniele Ganser Senior Researcher am Center for Security Studies (CSS) der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) Zürich. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizer Aussenministerium – dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) - untersuchte er den Einfluss der Globalisierung auf Krieg und Frieden. Daniele Ganser war Mitglied der Expertengruppe zur zivilen Friedensförderung und Stärkung der Menschenrechte im EDA.

Daniele Ganser ist Träger des Deutschen IQ-Preises 2015, vergeben von Mensa in Deutschland e.V., dem Verein für hochbegabte Menschen (www.mensa.de). Er ist Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Wirtschaftsverbandes swisscleantech (www.swisscleantech.ch). Daniele Ganser hat verschiedene Bücher, wissenschaftliche Aufsätze und Zeitungsartikel zu den Themen Energiewende, Friedensforschung und Zeitgeschichte veröffentlicht. Sein Buch zu den NATO-Geheimarmeen wurde in 10 Sprachen übersetzt. Sein Buch "Europa im Erdölrausch" erschien im September 2012 und schildert den globalen Kampf ums Erdöl. Die TOP-10 seiner Vorträge und Interviews haben auf Youtube mehr als 4 Millionen Views.

Daniele Ganser hat eine Tochter und einen Sohn und lebt mit seiner Familie in der Schweiz.

Deutscher IQ-Preis: Der Wilhelm Tell unter den Historikern, MinD-Magazin, 14. Juni 2016

Ein Tessiner sucht in Basel den Frieden, Tessiner Zeitung, 7. Juni 2013

In der Tabuzone, TagesWoche, 31. August 2012

Der Augenöffner, Best of Basel, 1. Juli 2009

Portrait Basler Zeitung 30. Januar 2006

LEBENSLAUF IN BILDERN

image

Deutscher IQ-Preis 2015

Am 23. April 2016 erhielt er in Bonn von Mensa, dem Verein für Hochbegabte, den Deutschen IQ-Preis 2015 in der Kategorie „Intelligente Vermittlung von Wissen“. Mensa erklärte, er erhalte den Preis, "weil er durch seine kritischen und teils kontroversen Veröffentlichungen die breite Öffentlichkeit dazu anregt, die Welt um sich herum zu hinterfragen. Mensa würdigt die Arbeit von Daniele Ganser als Publizist und kritischer Mahner, die eigene Intelligenz zum Wohle der Allgemeinheit einzusetzen." (Bild: Anna Weinhold, April 2016).

image

Seit 2012 Universität St. Gallen

Seit 2012 ist er Dozent an der Universität St. Gallen und unterrichtet dort zusammen mit Prof. Rolf Wüstenhagen den Kurs "Geschichte und Zukunft von Energiesystemen", bei dem die Kosten und Chancen der Energiewende untersucht werden.

image

Seit 2011 SIPER

Seit Juni 2011 leitet er als Direktor das Swiss Institute for Peace and Energy Research (SIPER) in Basel, welches zu den Themen Energie, Krieg und Frieden forscht. Das SIPER untersucht, ob es möglich wäre, die Energieversorgung zu 100% auf erneuerbare Energien umzustellen und Konflikte friedlich zu lösen (Bild: Vortrag KKL Luzern, Juli 2012).

image

2006-2015 Universität Basel

An der Universität Basel unterrichtete er von 2006 bis 2009 die Studentinnen und Studenten am Historischen Seminar im Bereich Zeitgeschichte. Danach war er von 2009 bis 2015 Dozent am Institut für Soziologie im Nachdiplomstudium Konfliktanalysen. Seine Forschungsresultate zum globalen Kampf ums Erdöl kommuniziert er in öffentlichen Vorträgen (Bild: Vorlesung an der Universität Basel, September 2011).

image

2003-2006 ETH Zürich

Am Center for Security Studies (CSS) der ETH Zürich forschte er zu den Themen Sicherheitspolitik, Globalisierung, verdeckte Kriegsführung und Menschenrechte (Bild v.l.n.r.: Präsentation meines Buches zu den NATO Geheimarmeen und zur Schweizer P26 mit Bruno Lezzi (NZZ), alt Nationalrat Helmut Hubacher und Hans Senn, ehemals Generalstabschef der Schweizer Armee, Prof. Georg Kreis (Universität Basel), Prof. Andreas Wenger (ETH CSS), Februar 2005).

image

2001-2003 Avenir Suisse

Als Senior Researcher war er beim Think Tank Avenir Suisse in Zürich für Wirtschaftspolitik und Zeitgeschichte zuständig. Von Avenir Suisse Beirat Jakob Kellenberger, damals Präsident des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz IKRK, hat er viel gelernt (Bild v.l.n.r.: Thomas Held, Direktor Avenir Suisse, Kellenberger, Ganser; September 2002).

image

1992-2001 Studium

Er studierte ab 1992 Geschichte, Internationale Beziehungen, Philosophie und Englisch an der Universität Basel, an der Amsterdam University (UVA) und an der London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). Sein Lizentiat im Bereich Zeitgeschichte erwarb er im Jahr 1998 summa cum laude und seine Promotion im 2001 insigni cum laude. In den Semesterferien hat er gerne fremde Länder bereist, darunter Nepal, Kuba, Indien, Kanada, Schweden, die USA und Algerien (Bild: USA, Florida, Februar 2001).

image

1972-1992 Kindheit und Jugend

Geboren wurde er 1972 in Lugano. Seit mehr als 150 Jahren herrscht in der Schweiz Frieden. Kein Nachbarland der Schweiz, und auch kein anderes Land der Welt, darf auf eine derart lange Friedenszeit zurückblicken. Das war ihm damals nicht klar. Seine Jugend verbrachte er in Basel, wo er 1992 die Matura erhielt (Bild: Erste Klasse, 1979).